In the Dead Garden

Posted: February 13, 2011 in Diary, Journal
Tags: , ,

I spent such a great couple of hours at Queens Road Cemetery earlier. Got in there the usual way and had my book with me but had to lay down some stuff on the grass so I could sit and keep dry. I leant against this massive headstone and started reading. I have a really old copy of The Catcher in the Rye. It’s the old orange and white Penguin version from the mid-fifties. Whatever, I just sat there reading for a while. I think only two people walked by the whole time, but I never looked up.

I started thinking about that girl again. Wish she would walk through this cemetery and sit with me. We wouldn’t talk, just sit together and listen to the birds and shit. Yeah, I could really dig that. Well, it didn’t happen tonight. So it got darker and darker and I saw some headlamps light up the little avenue that leads to the chapel. Sure enough it was the guy who locks up so I hid behind another stone and waited. I didn’t want to go home yet and it’s even cooler to be locked in that place. The guy went and I had the whole place to myself. I moved over to one of the big trees and leaned against that and looked up. I could hear the traffic on Pawsons Road better now and the tangle of branches and the smell of damp wood was really nice to me. I wish I could see some stars. Too many lights.

I didn’t stay too much longer. I grabbed my stuff and made for the fence. I knew it would be a pain climbing it, but I’d done it before. Just have to be wary of the spikes. One slip in my wet boots and I could get impaled like that American kid in the photograph on Bestgore.com. Was over and walked up Princess Street dragging my feet and smoking cigarettes. Didn’t pass one person – nice.

Leave a comment